Student Scholarships

Recognizing our commitment toward the promotion of leadership in gerontology, GGS sponsors an annual gerontology scholarship award program. This program provides scholarship opportunities to outstanding graduate and undergraduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in the field of aging. Applicants must be members of the Georgia Gerontology Society. The student membership rate is $25/year. If the membership fee creates a financial hardship for you, please email is discuss your options.

Two scholarships are awarded each year. The Robert P. Wray Scholarship of $2,000 is awarded to one undergraduate student, and the Virginia M. Smyth Scholarship of $3,000 is awarded to one graduate student to promote students’ interest in age-related issues and to promote professional development in gerontology.

 Applications due:  April 9, 2023

Announcement       Application and Instructions                          

The Robert P. Wray Scholarship

Robert P. Wray was an active GGS member, a founder of numerous service programs in Pennsylvania and Georgia, and was the first Director of the University of Georgia Gerontology Center. He was first posthumously honored in 1989 by designation of the Wray Legislative Award. However, Society members quickly realized that this educator’s memory would be best honored through naming of the annual gerontology scholarship award.

The Virginia Smyth Scholarship

The Virginia Smyth Scholarship is presented annually to offer financial support to persons seeking to advance their careers in aging. The fund, established in 1998, provides scholarships for graduate study in gerontology and promotes leadership development in the field of aging to include a broad knowledge base, strong organizational skills and a vision for the future. The Scholarship was first awarded in 2004 and named for Virginia Smyth, a founding member of GGS and the spirit behind the establishment and endowment of the GGS Scholarship Fund.

Older Adult Scholarships

As a network that educates, serves and advocates for older adults and their families, GGS sponsors an annual gerontology scholarship award program for older adults. This program provides a scholarship opportunity to attend the GGS Annual Conference for older adults in Georgia. By sponsoring this award, we aim to promote continued interest and involvement in aging-related issues across the lifespan.

Applications due:  April 9, 2023

Announcement                Application Instructions


2022 Student Scholarship Winners


Danielle Amarant

The Virginia Smyth Graduate Student Scholarship was awarded to Danielle Amarant. After several years working in professions ranging from human resources to social services to community development, Danielle is pursuing her Master of Public Health so she can take a closer look at the intersection of housing, health, and aging.

Danielle is particularly interested in housing as a social determinant of health and the impact affordable, permanent supportive housing for older adults has on health outcomes and one’s ability to age in place.

Danielle is passionate about contributing to the creation of healthy communities and celebrates finding connection through storytelling.


Alfred Boakye

Alfred Boakye is the recipient of the Virginia M. Smyth Graduate Student Scholarship. Alfred is currently pursuing his Master’s degree in Gerontology at Georgia State University.  He is passionate about the aging field and wants to pursue a Ph.D. in Gerontology.

One of his greatest motivations for choosing this career path is his grandmother who is 105 years old, yet, with few challenges associated with her age, is striving to live a healthy life.

Alfred has a growing thirst to change the culture of long-term care facilities to provide congenial work environments for direct care workers. His key research interests are trauma & resilience, social support, organizational culture and equity, caregiving, and religious coping.


Rochelle Mack

Ms. Rochelle Mack is a retired health care professional who has been in the industry since she was 18. Her commitment to “Keep Moving” is what keeps her motivated.

Rochelle shared, ” Receiving this scholarship means the passion that I have will continue as I age into the Aging Population. Continuing the work which is in high demand for Seniors will allow me to be that voice, ears & eyes for many. “